Cold Weather Survival

Winter is either here, or fast approaching. It is always a bit easier to find something conservative to wear in the fall and winter but here are my essentials.

Boots

  • Kamiks. Knee and calf length. If you have to deal with rain, these will get you through.
  • Sorels. I don’t see a lot of snow but when I do these things keep me warm and toasty. I can walk anywhere and be comfortable.

Long Johns

Silk-weight, boot-cut long-johns.  Worth every penny. Why silk-weight? They fit underneath my cotton tights. You could go for the merino ones. I haven’t found them in the shorter length and since I wear boots while wearing my long-johns I went for the cheaper, shorter alternative.

Woolies

You’re likely not allergic. You might have sensitive skin. There is also a good possibility that you’ve only ever touched the crappy stuff. Embrace it.

  • Hand-knit, knee-high wool socks. These are my number one survival item. If you don’t know how to knit but know someone who does go suck up – now. A pair can take 20-45 hours. If you’re a beginner knitter, socks aren’t that hard.
  • Sweaters or cardies. If you can get a hold of a vintage wool cardi they’re awesome. They’re very thin and light but very warm. I can fit mine underneath my blazers.
  • Toque! Get one or two in wool.
  • Mittens of course.

Outer Wear

  • Heavy, woolen overcoat. I have a hip length one and one knee-length one. The most useful one is the knee-length coat I picked up at the second-hand shop for $30.
  • Pashmina. Not “pashmina styled” scarf. Pashmina. This would be my number 2 item. Pashmina is another word for cashmere. Look for deals. Pick them up at the end of the season with all the sales. When I was Greater Vancouver I got 2 for $40. I wrap these up over my toque and around my neck, similar to hijab, when it’s cold and blustery.

So get out there and embrace the weather!

Leave a Reply

